Hawaii, Alaska, and Puerto Rico lawmakers discuss the Jones Act

Hawaii, Alaska, and Puerto Rico lawmakers say the U.S. ship build requirement of the Jones Act is a major contributor to the high cost of living in their locations and they want the U.S. Congress to remove this burden. The list of participants at the press conference today included: Hawaii: Senator Sam Slom (R); Representative Gene Ward (R); Representative Cindy Evans (D). Alaska: Senator Fred Dyson (R) – talking; Senator John Coghill (R) — Majority Leader — participated for a short time but needed to leave prior to speaking. Commonwealth of Puerto Rico: Senator Rossana Lopez Leon — Majority Whip Other speakers: Michael N. Hansen, President, Hawaii Shippers Council; Cliff Slater, Independent Transportation/Trucking/Railroad Professional

Jones Act
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All